What I would do is make a private staging area on your production site that is not visible to anyone except your content authors. Then you can review content and when you are ready you can publish it on public pages. If you notice the entire menu is driven by the view permissions of the pages in your site. If you create a role for Content Authors, you can create new pages and set the view roles to only Content Authors and no-one else but content authors and admins will see these pages in the menu or have access to the content. When you have new content that you are happy with you can easily publish it to a public page. This strategy is discussed in the bottom of this page.
Restoring a database from development or staging to production is really just not the way to go. Most sites will have user created content coming in all the time on their production sites, new users register, blog comments, forum posts, store purchases etc all update the production db, and if you restore a copy from dev you will lose that new data that was captured on production since the last time you pushed up the db.
Hope it helps,