Its just an authentication service, once the user is authenticated its no different than whether they signed in using the normal sign in screen. Their permissions are based on the roles they are in. By default new users are only added to the "Authenticated Users" role, other than that its whatever roles you add them to. If they register using RPX its no different than normal registration in terms of resulting user roles.
Hope it helps,