Changed behaviour in settings after 2.3.9.5 upgrade - simple links

If you have questions about using mojoPortal, you can post them here.

You may want to first review our site administration documentation to see if your question is answered there.

This thread is closed to new posts. You must sign in to post in the forums.
2/19/2013 12:42:14 PM
Gravatar
Total Posts 534
feet planted firmly on the ground

Changed behaviour in settings after 2.3.9.5 upgrade - simple links

I'm puzzled about some changed behaviour on a site after the 2.3.9.5 upgrade (at least I think that's when it changed).

Two things:

Manage User > Role Membership tab. Instead of the drop down list and "Add..." button, we have a link "Manage User Roles" to \dialog\manageuserrolesdialog.aspx?...

Page Settings > Security. Instead of the accordion control, we have simple links again.

I'm seeing this in several sites under the same mojoPortal installation, running in shared sites mode. They do not share the same skin, though there are similarities and they came from the same origin.

I'm 99.9% sure the sites had the normal controls a few days ago!

Other sites on 2.3.9.5 do not show this change.

??

 

 

2/19/2013 12:55:47 PM
Gravatar
Total Posts 18439

Re: Changed behaviour in settings after 2.3.9.5 upgrade - simple links

Those changes were made more than a few versions ago for the same reason as the parent page dropdown being changed to a dialog. If there are more than a few roles (20) we get errors due to too many form elements from the checkbox lists due to a change in behavior in asp.net after a security update quite a while back. If you recently added roles that could make it seem new since it hit the threshold, but it is not a change from this upgrade.

2/20/2013 2:12:23 AM
Gravatar
Total Posts 124

Re: Changed behaviour in settings after 2.3.9.5 upgrade - simple links

Ah I see - yes we added a new role around the same time as upgrading to 2.3.9.5, and this explains what we are seeing. Thanks for clarifying.

2/20/2013 6:10:27 AM
Gravatar
Total Posts 534
feet planted firmly on the ground

Re: Changed behaviour in settings after 2.3.9.5 upgrade - simple links

We've found a problem/bug with the ">20 roles mode".  Let me know if you want this on a new thread, but it is specifically caused by this change in behaviour.

When creating a new page, if you go to the security tab and click the link to set which roles can view the page before clicking "Create New Page", this actually sets the permissions on the default page of the site (because the link is like this https://mysite.co.uk/Admin/PagePermission.aspx?pageid=-1&p=v).  This caused my colleagues great mystification, when suddenly nothing in the site could be viewed by anonymous users.

This can be avoided of course by always saving the new page before setting its permissions, but the UI allows you to fall into this trap, so if it can be prevented that would be great.

 

2/20/2013 1:47:47 PM
Gravatar
Total Posts 18439

Re: Changed behaviour in settings after 2.3.9.5 upgrade - simple links

Thanks. This is now fixed in the source code repository so that instead of showing the links to role pages it shows a message that the page must be saved before setting permissions. So this will be fixed in the next release.

Best,

Joe

You must sign in to post in the forums. This thread is closed to new posts.