Would it be possible to hide the settings on the SiteSettings page after the user selected "New Site" from the drop down list of sites? I noticed the page refreshes and changes the URL when "New Site" is selected and the URL contains siteID=-1 so if logic could be added to hide the tabs containing the settings when the chosen siteID is -1, that would be great.
I've had people trying to create new sites get confused because they select "New Site" and then start changing settings and such before clicking the Save button. The problem is all of the changes they make don't get saved to the new site so they think there is an issue somewhere. Removing the settings from view when someone is adding a new site would remove the temptation to modify any of the settings until after the site is saved.
What do you think?