I'm not seeing this on the demo site. To be sure I'm understanding your problem.
1) you add a new shared files module to a page.
2) you disable the "Show Download Count To All Users?" option. It's default is disabled, by the way.
3) everyone, logged in or not, sees the download count?
Is that right?